Tags

, ,

“If you would have told me about two years ago that the man of my dreams lived in Florida, I probably would have laughed at you. If you had told me I would meet this man in World of Warcraft, I would have been in hysterics. See, I thought World of Warcraft was for über nerds – until I met the guy who introduced it to me, a guy who I was dating.

After the first time I played it, I was instantly hooked. It was so much fun, and I was meeting such funny people to talk to and quest with, kill zombies and what not. Life was good: I’d go to work, then come home and play WoW. I didn’t know anyone in real life who played this game – my friends all called me a geek- but I didn’t care.

I played on the server Bleeding Hollow. About a year into playing I started a new job, and found some people there who played WoW aswell. So I thought to myself: these guys are cool :). They invited me to come join their guild on a different server so we could raid, run instances and stuff together, so I agreed. I made the switch over to that server and immediately got invited to their guild. I was shy for the first month and didn’t really talk to anyone in the guild, except for my two real life buddies. Eventually I started doing stuff with other members of the guild as well, and finally got invited to a few raids.

There was this Priest named Pd. He gave me a Savory Delight and started /blame-ing my pet. I found that amusing. We ended up talking just about the game and silly things. He made me laugh.
I also cannot pinpoint the exact moment our relationship took a turn towards the more personal side. I do know I had been intrigued by him since the very first time we ever talked. And then, when I started having romantic-ish feelings for this guy I had never met before, I came across mmocouples.wordpress.com.

I was still in a relationship, but by that point in time it was falling down around my ears – it was a very rocky relationship right from the get go. I decided to break up with him. I lived in the same house with my ex for a couple weeks, figuring out where to go and what I was going to do, all the while talking to my priest. I asked him one night: “if I couldn’t play WoW for while, would you still talk to me?” He said “of course!”. So when I finally moved out, we kept in contact via E-mail and very lengthy phone calls. They never seemed that long to us. “I swear we’ve only been talking for a hour.”

After breaking up with my ex-boyfriend things became a lot clearer to me, and I am very happy to have not wasted too much of my life on someone like him. I just find it very funny that there are so many things that could have prevented my priest and I from meeting, but we did. I consider myself blessed. Anyways, he is one of the most amazing people I have ever met, and I am so lucky to have found him. He is coming down to see me right after Christmas. We are going to spend New Years Eve together.
I know that there is going to be a lot of big decisions to make, seeing as I live in Canada and he is in America, but I’m not worried at all. In fact, I’ve never been more excited in my life. We will make it work :)”

Thank you for sharing your story – and the funny pic, S.! Enjoy your first being-together to the fullest!

Gabi